Red Behind the Eyes

The Devil is real
And he can be stunning
He can be anywhere
He’s the fallen seraphim
Formerly the favoured
Now exiled and angry
When I hear his voice I weep inside
When I feel his touch I shudder and gasp
He lives within my heart
Each beat another breath
Each murmur another tear
My blood is his blood
My bones are his bones
But he doesn’t know
I fear him – but not for danger
For deceit and damage
For lies and pain
For cheating and nightmares
I fear for myself – but not for harm
For my grief, my mind and my spirit
I fear I’ll lose what I have because he will forget my name again
I fear what I could become if this story is actualised in life and in truth
Then we could both be Devils
Walking the earth filled with sadness
Heavy hearts and broken minds
Human skin but red behind the eyes.

Leave a Reply

